Your life has meaning …

Mystery of faith …

Trying to get a handle on the mystery of “faith” …

Bible experts taught me to live every day of my life by faith.  Their instruction said to trust God even when my circumstances looked as if I’m about to drown.  “Keep believing. Don’t quit especially when you can’t see the light of the sun.”

I’ve been told to live in this place means that I must defy everything my reason and senses experience as reality. Faith means standing still, keeping silent and trusting God no matter what.

And, I’m told to do this because God sees what I can only have faith for. Hebrews 11: 1 Faith means being sure of the things we hope for and knowing that something is real even if we do not see it. (NCV)

This is truth, I suppose, but I certainly haven’t mastered it yet. How do I have this kind of faith and make it mine? How do I believe though I do not see any tangible evidence?

Yes, I guess, God exists outside my sensual perceptions. God is not a sound, not a sight, not a taste, not a touch, not a smell and still can be any or all of these if he chooses. Does that make sense?

How do I grow up and strengthen my faith? How do I eat meat and wash it down with my glass of milk? Tell me if you know. Faith is a challenge.  What do you think? How do you see it?

Comments on: "Mystery of faith …" (1)

  1. It is hard to accept that I am not totally in control. However, it seems every situation I’ve needed Him, God has bailed me out, usually even better than I expected. It may not make sense but we must cling to hope and faith, like the blanky we used to hold tightly as a child.

Leave a Reply

