Your life has meaning …

It used to be that I resented being asked for money. I practiced this sound financial advice: get all you can, can all you get, sit on the lid and poison the rest.

I never thought of myself as a bad person. But I didn’t feel good about myself in this area either. Things began to improve when I answered: What is God’s plan for me? Is it selfishness? Of course not, it’s selflessness.

So, I flipped my thinking from canning what I got to giving what I can. Instead of saying, “This is mine!”  I figured that God presented me an opportunity to get more. (More than just money).

God has been generous to me. I ought to be generous to others. It’s Jesus saying in Matthew 7: 21: “Treat other people the way you want to be treated.”

This challenged me and I searched and found a ministry I’m passionate about and made a part of my stewardship ministry.

The amount given doesn’t matter. God doesn’t need my money. God is after my heart. Because when God has my heart I won’t withhold anything.

Now I’m learning to be a giver instead of a tipper.

(As always you’re thoughts and comments are appreciated).

Leave a Reply

