Your life has meaning …

Being Married …

I faced the double monitors above the control board in the radio studio. Scott called when I began my scheduled two-minute break. I had to finish before I could answer his call. Usually someone will hang up after ten or fifteen seconds, but the red light kept flashing. I thought, “either this person isn’t listening to the radio or they aren’t going to give up.”

Finally, at the end of the stop-set, I pushed the button, “Thanks for calling.  This is Lee.”

“Listen, I need to talk.” No warm up, no blah, blah, blah, just let’s get to it.

I looked up at the monitor and noted the song on the air had a good three and a half minutes left. “Okay I gotta a little time, what’s up?”

“I’m thinking I need to probably get a divorce.” I could hear Scott’s mind searching to find the words he wanted to say. “Everything is nothing but an argument. It’s miserable.”

“Okay.”

“I can’t do anything right. We don’t really talk anymore. The kids are hurting.”

“How many children?”

“Three.”

“All girls? All boys?

“Two boys and a daughter.”

“Why’d you guys get married?”

Scott didn’t hesitate, he said, “We loved each other.”

“Do you still love each other?”

“Oh man, I don’t know … I … yes, I still love her.”

“So what do you think happened?”

“We got lost somewhere as the kids were growing.” I listened as Scott told me his version of what was going on. He said they had created different worlds and rarely spent any time together.

“So,” I reached up and touched the next song on the play list, “do you think divorce will make things better?”

“Not really, but … I … this ain’t working that’s all I know.” Regret and pain were mixed into the tone of his voice. He’d called hoping maybe it’d help to talk to someone outside his world.

“I’d like to pray for your marriage if you’d let me, would that be all right?”

“Yeah, sure … please.  Maybe God can do something.” I prayed for Scott’s marriage and family.

“Scott, I’m a Christian radio announcer,” I said before Scott hung up from wherever he called from, “I’m not a pastor or a marriage counselor. But it sounds to me that you guys can work this out if you’ll get away and spend some time talking like you used to before things got this way. Can you do that?”

“I’d like to try.”

“That’s a start. Make it a date somewhere quiet.”

Scott made me reflect on my own marriage. Any marriage faces times of crisis. At these times I believe the Lord is reminding me that my marriage relationship is an exercise in cooperation not competition.

Leave a Reply

