Your life has meaning …

In His Presence

Where can I go from your spirit? Or where can I flee from your presence? (Psalm 139:7)

These words from this Psalm challenged me. I used to assume that God was somewhere way out there. And if he felt like it, every once in awhile he’d travel to the place where I am.

Misconceptions such as, God’s an absent parent kept me from truth. If God is absent, God may as well not exist at all. How am I supposed to get excited about God way out there … somewhere, maybe?

No, I wasn’t trying to figure out if God is. God told Moses at the burning bush, “I Am.” I believed God is but I reasoned that God might not be paying attention all the time. (Although I suspected, occasionally, God checked up on me to see if I’d made any moves toward improvement).

This time these words captured me. Before when I read them my wandering and misdirected mind prevented me from fixing on what was written. All at once I saw the verse differently. I heard it differently, “Where can I go from your spirit? Or where can I flee from your presence?”

I asked myself, “Where can I get to that God isn’t already there?”

Nowhere.

Comments on: "In His Presence" (0)

  1. Stan wrote: “Very true.”

  2. He is all around us everywhere we go. We are never out of His presence. I
    find that very comforting. I know He watches over me at all times now and
    forever. He never sleeps or slumbers. He is always there protecting us,
    directing us, praying for us, interceding for us defending us and that gives me a
    peaceful feeling that I’m never out of His care. Francine

Leave a Reply

