Your life has meaning …

A Test for Reality

Jesus replied, “All those who love me will do what I say. My Father will love them, and we will come to them and live with them. ” (John 14:23 NLT)

I sat alone in the chapel staring at the rainbow of colors spilling through the stained glassed window. I reflected on my desire versus my reality.

My desire pleads for me to agree with God. My reality undermines involvement with God. Sad.

Would I twist the facts to make me look better? I would. That’s sad because if I could promote my phony superiority over your imagined inferiority, I would.

In reality my human nature is awful. It shows up when I drive to work. I run red lights, swerve through traffic and often ignore road courtesy.

It shows up at work. I seldom smile. I seldom express kindness. I seldom forgive a supposed insult.

It shows up anywhere. I refuse responsibility, blaming every failure on something or someone else.

Who I am is nearly impossible for me to be honest about. In the quiet of the chapel I realized, “I’m missing something.”

This verse from John tells me what I’m missing: intimacy with God. I’m offered a new reality through Jesus. My desire is to not miss this reality.

Can you relate?

Leave a Reply

