Your life has meaning …

Talking to You (Story)

It’s almost 4:00 AM. The end of my radio shift. I’m tired. Time to wrap things up and go home. Then a call came into the studio. I thought about not answering it.

DOES GOD KNOW HOW TO TALK?

“Hi Lee, listen, do you think God talks to people?”

“Well, I think He tries to.”

“Yeah ‘cause I’ve been up all night and it’s the weirdest thing but I have this sense that God has been talking to me.”

HAVE YOU LEARNED HOW TO LISTEN?

“Sounds good.” I didn’t suspect that (Jim) was strange or someone who’d maybe missed taking their meds. Normally I received three or four calls from people in this situation in any given week. The conversations with them are different than what I was having with Jim. What had happened in Jim’s case is that he finally came to a place where he could quiet himself. Evidently this morning there were fewer distractions and less noise interference. As a result, Jim discerned God’s Spirit speaking.

COULD THIS HAPPEN TO YOU?

“Right, it’s like I’m kinda nervous saying anything, but hey, this is real!”

“It’s been helpful?”

“Oh man in a matter of nanoseconds I’m getting answers to questions I’ve had plus I’ve been given specific direction about things going on.”

“Really?”

“Lee I’m telling you, it’s wonderful.”

“I believe you.”

“I don’t want God to stop talking.”

ARE YOU WILLING TO HEAR?

“No, I doubt He will now that He has your ear.” I’ve heard from others that talking with God is their everyday “normal.” For them God is a friend that they ask counsel from and take guidance from and who they just have a chat with about nothing in particular. It’s an ongoing connection. “So this is new for you?”

“It is and I just had to tell someone I felt would understand.”

GOD IS TALKING TO YOU

“Thank you Jim.” Also others calling have told me that they can hear God even during life’s confusing mess. They are able to do this because most have a history of sincerely paying attention.

“Well thanks for hearing me out … love your show.”

And Jim was gone. I don’t know from what part of the country Jim called. But I know others heard him and could relate.

In the silence or chaos God is talking to you.

Leave a Reply

