Your life has meaning …

BE SATISFIED WITH GOOD ENOUGH

You’ve heard this right? “You’re either green and growing or ripe and rotten.”

The choice is between fresh or moldy (as in spoiled).

When I’m ripe and rotten (self-satisfied e.g. with my Bible reading) I say things like:

  • “I know this already.”
  • “There’s nothing new here.”
  • “Ho-hum. Yawn. Zzzz.”
  • “Let’s get this over with.”

SETTLE FOR RIPE AND ROTTEN

I’ve done my duty. Check it off. One main reason I become ripe and rotten is because I settle for good enough and forget how nutritious fresh is. Sure in my better moments I realize I’m poisoning myself. But I fool myself into supposing “I can stomach this.” I barely notice the manna is rotting.

EAT BLAND AND TELL YOURSELF, “THIS AIN’T FRESH BUT IT AIN’T BAD.”

But what would happen if I pretended I’m reading these verses in the Bible fresh (for the first time)? What if I crawl inside the scene and make myself a part of it? What might come to pass? God’s Holy Spirit, like mama, tries to get me to quit eating junk and in its place eat healthy.

NEVER TRY ANYTHING DIFFERENT

In the beginning I resist. Why do I do that? Because that’s what mommas’ kids do. But what if I actually try something fresh? Will I maybe like it? Well I’ll never know if I refuse to put it in my mouth, chew it, and swallow it.

WAY OUT: DARE YOURSELF TO EAT FRESH

Digest this: I’m reading a series of six verses in my Bible (Mark 3) I’ve read before. I haven’t memorized all the words but I know this story almost like I know a 101 ways to use hamburger. Or so I think.

  • Jesus walks into the temple in Jerusalem.
  • Jesus notices a man with a withered hand.
  • Jesus is being set up.
  • Jesus’ critics hope to accuse him of a crime.
  • Jesus plays along.
  • Jesus taunts his critics.
  • Jesus’ critics are silent.
  • Jesus restores the man to health.
  • Jesus’ critics are ripe with rotten contempt.

YOU”LL MOVE FROM ROTTEN TO FRESH

So what’s fresh? Here are a few things I see, what do you see?

1)      Jesus intimidated his critics

2)      Jesus healed my withered hand

3)      Jesus transformed me forever

4)      Jesus desires to change the contempt of his critics.

Leave a Reply

